DeSoto County, Mississippi DUI Attorneys
Police officers working in the various departments scattered across DeSoto County, Mississippi, are on the lookout for intoxicated drivers. A considerable amount of time and money has been spent by police departments throughout Mississippi to crack down on drunk drivers and those considering drinking before driving in DeSoto County need to be aware of the legal penalties they could face for doing so.
One category of DUI accidents that police are especially concerned about are those that result in death or serious injuries to others. One way elected officials have tried to combat the problem is by crafting incredibly punitive laws meant to send a message to others who might think of drinking and driving in the future. In Mississippi, if someone commits a DUI that causes death or serious injury in the form of disfigurement or permanent disability to another, the drunk driver will be charged with a felony for each death or injury that resulted from his actions. If convicted, the punishment for committing such felonies ranges between five and 25 years imprisonment for each such offense.
Though drunk driving laws in Mississippi are already harsh on the general population, commercial drivers in Mississippi face especially serious penalties that directly impact their ability to earn a living and provide for their families. The first difference between commercial drunk driving convictions and those for the rest of the public is a difference in what blood alcohol concentration counts as intoxicated. In Mississippi, any BAC level greater than .08% qualifies as drunk driving for ordinary drivers. For commercial drivers, the legally allowable BAC is half that, .04%. Any commercial driver found with a blood alcohol concentration greater than .04% will face charges of driving under the influence.
In addition to the normal penalties associated with a DUI conviction, commercial truck drivers who are first time offenders can lose their commercial driving privileges for one year. This penalty is enhanced if a the driver happened to be transporting hazardous materials at the time of the drunk driving and truckers found guilty will be subject to a three year suspension of their commercial driver’s license. Furthermore, any driver who commits a second act of drunk driving in the state while operating a commercial vehicle will be suspended from driving commercial vehicles for life. It’s possible that under certain circumstances the suspension can be reduced to 10 years, but judges have discretion to keep the more severe penalty. These kinds of penalties are incredibly hard on truck drivers and their families who depend on the ability to operate a commercial vehicle as their sole source of income. Given how harmful such a conviction could be to your ability to earn a living, it’s crucial that you consult an experienced DeSoto County DUI attorney.
Anyone facing a DeSoto County, MS conviction for DUI should not do it alone. It is important to have the assistance of effective counsel on your side. If you or someone you know in DeSoto County or the surrounding area is dealing with a possible DUI conviction, contact the intoxicated driving defense attorneys at Stroud, Flechas & Dalton today. They will vigorously advocate on your behalf.