Assault and Battery

If you’ve been charged with assault or battery in Mississippi or Tennessee, you could be facing harsh consequences if found guilty. You’re likely worried about your future, about your reputation, and for those that depend on you. You need a team on your side you can trust, one that understands your circumstances and has your best interests at heart.

At a difficult time in your life when it seems no one is on your side, trust The Stroud Law Firm to fight for your rights and secure the best possible outcome for you. Assault and battery cases should not be approached lightly, and the sooner you contact us, the more time we have to gather evidence in support of your case.

To help you better understand the gravity of your assault and battery case, here are some notes on Mississippi law:

Mississippi Code Annotated § 97-3-7 deals with the crimes of simple and aggravated assault.

  • Simple Assault: A person can be guilty of simple assault if that person attempts to cause bodily injury to another or purposely, knowingly, or recklessly causes bodily injury to another. A person can also be guilty of simple assault if the person negligently causes bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon. Finally, a person can be guilty of simple assault if that person, by physical menace, places another in fear of imminent serious bodily harm.

Actual injury of another is not required in order to be found guilty of simple assault. However, if there is actual injury, in order for the assault to be classified as a simple assault, the injury must not be a serious one.

The possible penalties for simple assault are a fine of up to $500 dollars, imprisonment in the county jail for up to six months, or both.

  • Aggravated Assault: A person can be guilty of aggravated assault if that person attempts to cause serious bodily injury to another or causes such injury purposely, knowingly, or recklessly under circumstances manifesting extreme indifference to the value of human life. A person can also be guilty of aggravated assault if that person attempts to cause or purposely or knowingly causes bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon or other means likely to produce death or serious bodily harm.

The possible penalties for aggravated assault are a imprisonment in the county jail for up to one year or in the state penitentiary for not more than 20 years.

If you have been charged with simple or aggravated assault, there may be defenses available to you. It is important that you have an experienced attorney representing you and looking out for your rights. Please contact the criminal defense attorneys at The Stroud Law Firm, based in Southaven, Mississippi, to discuss your case right away.