DUI (Driving Under the Influence)

DeSoto County Criminal Defense Attorney

If you’ve been charged with a DUI in Southaven, Olive Branch, Horn Lake, Hernando, Tunica, Northern Mississippi or the Memphis metro-area, the consequences you face could be severe. You likely feel as if no one is on your side. Confused and upset, you need someone to turn to.

This is where The Stroud Law Firm comes in. Our experienced DUI defense attorneys will fight for your rights as a citizen to secure the best possible outcome for your case. We will stand by your side throughout the entire process, advising you on the best actions to take the entire way. Ultimately, we want to help you to move on with your life.

Can I be stopped and arrested for DUI or DWI in Mississippi even if the vehicle was not moving?

View our Criminal/DUI Law Videos

Below are some notes on the possible ramifications of a DUI if you are found guilty, demonstrating the importance of timely action:

Mississippi Code Annotated § 63-11-30 deals with driving under the influence offenses.

  • A person can be guilty of a DUI if that person is operating a vehicle in the State of Mississippi while: (1) under the influence of intoxicating liquor, or (2) under the influence of any other substance which has impaired such person’s ability to operate a motor vehicle, or (3) having a blood-alcohol concentration of .08 or higher. If the person is under the age of 21, the limit is lowered to .02.
  • A person convicted of a DUI will be fined between $250 and $1,000. The person can also be imprisoned in the county jail for up to 48 hours. In addition, the person’s driver’s license will be suspended for at least 90 days and until completion of alcohol safety education classes.
  • It is your right to refuse a breathalyzer test. However, a refusal in Mississippi results in an automatic 90 day suspension of your driver’s license, and no hardship license is available to a person who fails to submit to the breathalyzer.
  • There are procedures in place that must be followed by a police officer charging a person with a DUI. If those procedures are not followed, the DUI might be dismissed by the court.

A conviction for a DUI can have a very detrimental impact on a person’s life. If you have been charged with a DUI, it is very important that you hire an experienced attorney to represent you and look out for your rights. Contact our DUI defense attorneys today and set up an appointment to discuss your case.

Can a person be guilty of drunk driving in Mississippi if they only had one drink?

For more information on local DUI laws, view our DeSoto County, Hernando, Horn Lake, Olive Branch, Southaven, and Tunica pages.