Reckless Driving

If you’ve been charged with reckless driving, chances are you’re confused, frustrated, and scared that your license might be in jeopardy. How will you get to work? Pick up the kids? Meet up with friends and family?

At The Stroud Law Firm, we understand your concern and want to help you fight the reckless driving charge and protect your rights. You need someone on your side who can evaluate the circumstances and choose the best step for you to take. Our attorneys have the experience and knowledge you need to battle a reckless driving charge.

Below are some notes from Mississippi law that demonstrate the harsh consequences of a reckless driving conviction:

Mississippi Code Annotated § 63-3-1201 deals with reckless driving.

  • If a person drives a vehicle in such a manner as to indicate either a willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property, that person can be found guilty of reckless driving.
  • A first conviction of reckless driving will result in a fine of $5 to $100. A second or subsequent conviction may result in imprisonment up to 10 days or up to a $500 fine, or both.

A conviction of reckless driving could not only cost you in fines and jail time but may also affect your insurance rates. A qualified reckless driving attorney may be able to keep a conviction off your record or get your case dismissed. It is important that you have an attorney to represent you and look out for your rights. If you have been charged for reckless driving in Southaven, DeSoto County, or Tunica County, Mississippi, contact the experienced Southaven criminal defense attorneys at The Stroud Law Firm today.