Southaven, MS Drug Charges
According to Whitehouse.gov, the state of Mississippi appears to have fewer people using illicit drugs, and fewer people dying from the use of illicit drugs than the national average. Approximately 6 percent of residents in the state of Mississippi reported using illegal drugs within the past month, while the national average is 8 percent. Drug-induced deaths in Mississippi are lower than the national average, and marijuana is the most commonly cited drug among drug treatment admissions in the state. State and federal laws regulate the possession, sale and manufacture of marijuana, as well as the possession of drug paraphernalia. Driving under the influence of marijuana in Mississippi, is also a criminal offense.
In 2014, Mississippi allowed the use of medical marijuana in strictly controlled-use cases. House Bill 1231 allowed the use of marijuana only for the treatment of debilitating epileptic conditions or related illnesses. Marijuana—for that use only—is limited to the drug grown at the National Center for Natural Products Research at the University of Mississippi, and dispensed by the University of Mississippi Medical Center. In essence, Mississippi somewhat decriminalized marijuana in 1978, making possession of less than 30 grams of the drug no more severe than a misdemeanor traffic ticket. Marijuana reform in the state has pushed for further decriminalization of marijuana arrests and treatment over incarceration.
Southaven, MS Possession of Marijuana Charges
That being said, possession of larger amounts of marijuana can result in extremely severe penalties.
Intentionally or knowingly possessing marijuana in the state of Mississippi can result in the following penalties:
- Possession of any amount of marijuana up to 30 grams is a misdemeanor crime and can result in a fine up to $250.00. A second conviction for possession of any amount of marijuana, up to 30 grams, within a two-year period can result in between five and 60 days in jail and a $250 fine. A third conviction for possession of any amount of marijuana, up to 30 grams, can result in a fine between $250 and $500, and between five days and six months in jail.
- Keeping marijuana in a vehicle is illegal; if a person has from one to 30 grams of the drug in an area of a vehicle normally occupied by passengers (in the glove box, not in the trunk) you could be fined up to $1,000, and spend up to 90 days in jail.
- Larger amounts of marijuana can result in much higher penalties. As an example, possession of between 30 and 250 grams of marijuana can result in fines as large as $1,000, and/or up to a year in jail. Possession of 250 grams up to 500 grams of marijuana can result up fines up to $50,000, and from two to eight years in prison. For possession of one to five kilograms of marijuana, you could face six to twenty-four years in prison and fines as large as $500,000. Finally, for possession of more than five kilograms of marijuana, the penalties can be as high as up to $1 million in fines and ten to thirty years in prison.
Possession of Drug Paraphernalia in Mississippi
You may not possess or use drug paraphernalia in the state; if you are caught doing so, you will be charged with a misdemeanor, and could face up to six months in jail, and a fine as large as $500. However, if you are convicted of possession one ounce of marijuana or less, and you also possess drug paraphernalia, the possession punishment is the only penalty. Selling drug paraphernalia or making it with the intent to sell is also a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine as large as $500 or up to six months in jail, unless the drug paraphernalia is sold to a minor who is at least three years younger than the seller. In that case, the penalties increase to fines as large as $1,000, and up to one year in jail. For a first time offender, a Mississippi paraphernalia charge could possibly be taken care of in a manner that it would not show up on a criminal record, however it could require a six-month probation period along with random drug testing and payment of court costs.
Selling Marijuana in Southaven, MS
The penalties for selling marijuana in Mississippi are much more severe; as an example, selling up to thirty grams of marijuana could result fines as large as $3,000 and up to three years in prison, or both. Selling marijuana in amounts between 30 grams and one kilogram can result in fines as large as $30,000 and/or up to twenty years in prison. If a person in the state of Mississippi sells ten pounds of marijuana or more within a 12-month period, that person will face felony charges and could receive as much as life in prison without parole as a penalty.
How a Southaven, MS Criminal Defense Attorney from Stroud, Flechas & Dalton Can Help
If you are facing charges of possession or sales of marijuana, you need highly experienced legal representation. The attorneys at Stroud, Flechas & Dalton have helped people facing the same type of charges for many years. We understand that a conviction for Southaven marijuana charges can completely derail your future, and our goal is to minimize the consequences of your charges to the extent possible. Don’t face these charges on your own—call Stroud, Flechas & Dalton today at (662) 536-5656 for reliable, experienced, knowledgeable representation.
Photo Credit: miss.libertine