Driving with a Suspended or Revoked License in Southaven, Mississippi
According to the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety, between the years 2007 and 2009, nearly one in five fatal crashes involved an unlicensed driver, or a driver with an invalid license. In 2011, the Foundation reported the proportion of unlicensed drivers involved in fatal crashes had been steadily rising over the prior two decades. Because we are a nation who loves to drive, being without a driver’s license can cause significant problems in the day-to-day lives of most people.
We drive to and from work, we take our children (or ourselves) to school, we run a myriad of errands such as buying groceries, going to the bank or paying bills, we take the children here and there to extracurricular activities, we go to church, to visit friends and family, for recreation events and we even take cross-country vacations in our cars. Despite how much we use our vehicles, you could find yourself with a suspended license in the state of Mississippi, wondering whether you should chance driving.
Potential Reasons for a Southaven, MS Suspended or Revoked Driver’s License
There are many reasons for a license suspension or revocation in the state, including the following:
Suspension (you cannot drive for a specified period of time, but can get your driver’s license back later):
- You have been deemed habitually reckless or negligent while driving
- You have been convicted for certain controlled substance crimes
- You have enough serious traffic offenses, that the state has determined you both disrespect traffic laws and the safety of others
- You were the driver in an accident which resulted in serious property damage, injury or death
- You were caught driving without valid auto insurance
- You failed to pay fines or fees associated with traffic violations or you failed to respond to a summons or citation for certain traffic violations
- You have been deemed incompetent to drive a motor vehicle
- You have failed to comply with a court order to pay child support
- You refused to submit to a chemical test when you were pulled over on suspicion of DUI
Revocation (means you have had your driver’s license cancelled entirely and you must submit to an investigation prior to obtaining another license):
- You have been convicted of any felony in which a motor vehicle was used
- You failed to stop following an auto collision which resulted in another’s injury or death
- You have been convicted of manslaughter or negligent homicide, if a vehicle was used
- You have three convictions for reckless driving within a 12-month period
- You have been charged with contempt for failure to pay a fine or failure to respond to a summons for specific charges
Penalties Associated with Driving on a Suspended License in Southaven, MS
If you are caught driving on a suspended or revoked license, you could be charged with a misdemeanor crime, and subject to the following penalties:
- Fines between $200 and $500
- An increase in the length of your license suspension
- From two days to six months in jail
Your actual penalty for driving on a suspended or revoked license can vary significantly depending on a variety of factors. One of those factors is the attitude your Southaven, MS municipal court judge and prosecutor have regarding those who drive without a valid license. It is important to have an attorney from Stroud, Flechas & Dalton who has a clear understanding of how your charges will be viewed, and will know how obtain the best results possible in your case.
Southaven, MS Insurance Consequences Related to a Suspended License
Auto insurance companies keep tabs on driver’s license suspensions and revocations. If your license has been suspended or revoked, you may be labeled a high-risk customer. If you are subsequently caught driving without a valid license, your insurance company may cancel your policy altogether. When you are forced to purchase auto insurance as a high-risk driver, you may find you are unable to pay the extremely high premiums.
Obtaining a Southaven, MS Hardship License
While your Mississippi driver’s license is suspended or revoked, you are not permitted to drive unless you qualify for a hardship license to drive to and from work or school or to receive medical treatment. You will have to clearly show you will lose your job or be expelled from school, or that your health will suffer in order to be considered for a hardship license. Once your suspension period has run, you will receive a notice of restoration, along with instructions for obtaining a new driver’s license.
How Stroud, Flechas & Dalton Can Help
Obviously, you should not drive while your license is suspended or revoked, however if you did so, it is imperative you speak to a knowledgeable attorney from Stroud, Flechas & Dalton. We can work to minimize the consequences of your charges for driving with a suspended license. We understand that you may have only driven one time, because you felt it was necessary, or perhaps you were driving to work or school without a hardship license. You need an advocate in your corner who will fight for your rights, and Stroud, Flechas & Dalton can do just that. Call Stroud, Flechas & Dalton today at (662) 536-5656.