Other significant arrest totals include 32 drug-related charges (13%), 17 shop-lifting arrests (7%) and 11 counts of domestic disturbance/violence (4.5%).
These arrest totals are fairly typical for a week in DeSoto County. While not out of the ordinary, it is important to not discount the effect that a DUI can have upon your driving privileges and your pocketbook. For example, a first-time DUI in Mississippi can mean $250 to $1000 in fines, up to 48 hours in jail, a suspension of your license, and mandatory attendance of the Mississippi Alcohol Safety Education Program. Repeat offenders can receive much harsher penalties.
Many times, individuals try to represent themselves in municipal court. They do so to avoid paying an attorney to represent them or they are under the false impression that the prosecutor/arresting officer will “work with them”. Sadly, many end up being pressured to plead to crimes that they did not commit in lieu of chancing serving a jail sentence or paying a high fine. Even worse are situations where someone is pressured into accepting a plea deal, when the arresting officer has either left the force or continually does not show for the hearing. In situations like this, the defendant has a right to request a dismissal of the case, even though they are not told by the prosecutor/court that they have this right.
If you find yourself on the receiving end of a DUI arrest, you should find a qualified criminal attorney to represent you as soon as possible. It can make mean the difference of your losing driving privileges and keeping your criminal record clear.